Home > WordPress - Pros > Finally – wordpress.com is now an ad-free zone!

Finally – wordpress.com is now an ad-free zone!

September 18, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this announcement today: Go (Even More) Ad-Free. Finally, wordpress.com is doing away with the Google Ads that have plagued my blog for so long. Well, they’re not really doing away with them, I have to pay to opt out of them, but it’s at a very reasonable price: $30/yr.

Better off than on?

I know many people would rather have an option to ADD Google Ads to their wordpress.com blog, but to me this is a big step forward, because I know that many people are equally annoyed with having WordPress show ads on their blog without them knowing and without them being able to do anything about it.

Thumbs up WordPress, and thank you for listening to your users.

Related

My posts about: Google Ads on wordpress.com

Share this

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

  1. September 19, 2008 at 1:26 am

    I have to admit that offering opting out of ads is far more clever than allowing WordPress.com users to run ads, especially since opting out allows WordPress.com to make money both ways. :) Better still, opting out of ads is in line with the reasoning Matt gave in his interview on Plagiarism Today on “Why WordPress.com is virtually spam free” that you linked to.

  2. September 19, 2008 at 5:19 am

    Jennifer, you’re absolutely right. I didn’t think of it that way. And yes, opting out is what non-spammers want. If I were a splogger I would certainly want the opt-in option. Nonetheless, I never thought I’d live to see this day come this fast. Well, I’m glad it’s there, and I’m already using it for my other blog, and I haven’t seen any ad on it since.

  3. September 19, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    It’s also a censorship zone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

