Home > TypePad - Cons, WordPress - Pros > Replying to, editing and moving comments in TypePad versus WordPress

Replying to, editing and moving comments in TypePad versus WordPress

September 3, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Comments are great on a blog. They allow for interaction between you and your readers. I love blogs with comments and I love to have comments on my blog. However, replying to a bunch of comments means that you have to add your answers at the bottom of a long list of comments. With WordPress, not TypePad, you can insert your reply in between every comment, thus creating the illusion of a conversation, even if you are replying at a much later time or date. How is that possible?

Comment editing

Both TypePad and WordPress allow comment editing. You can strip out obvious errors or spelling mistakes (unless the commenter intentionally makes a pun), you can change the commenters name and web address (not that you want to, but you CAN, and I sometimes have changed or deleted the URL if the comment was ok, but the referring site was spam).

Time stamp

What you can do in WordPress, but not in Typepad, is that you can actually edit the time the comment was made. Now, you would not want to do that to your commenters, but you can do that to your own reply, so even when you are replying hours later or the next day, you can “pretend” to reply before, in order to insert your own reply in between two other comments. This will create the illusion of a conversation, and for your other readers or commenters is much easier to get the whole picture, than reading the comments and then your replies at the bottom.

How to do it?

Let me show you an example: This post has 19 comments, and I have not yet replied to all. This is how the last comments look like before I edit:

Comments in WordPress before editing

You will see three comments at the top, but I only replied to two of them in two separate replies, below those three comments. I want to move my first reply up under its respective counterpart. I simply click the “Edit” comment link on my comment, and bring up the comment in an Editor screen. Note the “Edit” link next to the date? Simply click there and change the date and time.

 

Changing time and date on comment

Changing time and date on comment

After changing the time, the comment now appears where it should be.

Comments in WordPress after editing

Comments in WordPress after editing

Conclusion

I’m not sure about the etiquette here, and some may consider it bad etiquette to “fake” ones replies in order to create a more fluent conversation in the comments. I would not want to do this as a rule, but on occasion it may look better, don’t you think?

Typepad versus WordPress: Typepad – 1, WordPress – 2.

Current scoreboard

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

  1. September 3, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Wow, I never thought of that technique. What I usually do is click on the comment I want to respond to, add my response below the comment, then bold, italicize and block quote it, signing my name at the end (so it is clear that my part is not part of the original comment).

    I really love all of the options we have with editing comment in WP!!

  2. December 23, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    This is an extremely cool trick. Thanks for the hint.

    I also often use the inline comment editing to clean up bad grammar or better format the html.

    To do so, be sure to put an edit button next to comments in your theme. Then you don’t have to go to the back end to do the editing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

