Home > WordPress - Cons > Possibly annoying things about WordPress: CSS in themes

Possibly annoying things about WordPress: CSS in themes

Many of you will already know that I change my theme every now and then. Why? Simply to better understand WordPress and to really see which theme that is best suited to my blogging goals. Today I came across two strange things in the CSS of the theme I am currently using. After a question in the Forum and an inquiry to WordPress support I got the answer why the CSS is causing some hickups in my theme. I would never have found out had I not used this theme, but as it looks like, I’m not sure WordPress is going to do anything about it.

So, what are these two problems?

1. HTML-tags don’t work as intended

Have a look at yesterday’s post about the WordPress Media Library. Note the third paragraph. Wouldn’t that look better with a numbered list? In fact, there is a numbered list, it just won’t display using the “Pool” theme. In the “Contempt” theme it displays without any problems. Cause: CSS. Read my post in the WordPress Forums about this issue, and see for yourself below.

Numbered list in the third paragraph not appearing in "Pool"

Numbered list in the third paragraph not appearing in "Pool"

Numbered list in the third paragraph appearing in "Contempt"

Numbered list in the third paragraph appearing in "Contempt"

2. Font size changes inside a table

Now take a  look at this page, comparing WordPress and TypePad side-by-side. Notice the table. Why is the table font size notably different from the regular paragraph font size? Again, in the “Contempt” theme there are no such issues (Bold = my formatting, but no other formatting was used).

Font size changes when using a table in "Pool"

Font size changes when using a table in "Pool"

Font size doesn't change when using a table in "Contempt"

Font size doesn't change when using a table in "Contempt"

I did notify WordPress Support of this matter. This is the response I got for the table issue:

Actually this theme is inheriting the font size from the body, which doesn’t explicitly set a font size. The normal font sizes you see are set on the paragraph elements in the CSS. So this is why you are seeing a difference.

Alright, now I know why. But, are they going to do anything, or do I have to live with this?

Do you know of similar issues in other themes?

Share this

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

