Home > WordPress - Cons > Annoying things about WordPress: Trackbacks/pingbacks in recent comments

Annoying things about WordPress: Trackbacks/pingbacks in recent comments

I have mentioned this in an earlier post: When importing from TypePad to WordPress my TypePad trackbacks are turned into comments in WordPress, but as I understand, that is how WordPress’ pingback works. I have to live with that. But now it gets even weirder…for a TypePad user like me: Pingbacks are not only added to comments in the post, they also appear in my “Recent Comments” widget.

Ok, maybe this is not so annoying after all. If it’s a pingback from a different site, that could even be useful. But if it’s a pingback from my own site? Hmm…does this look nice?

I’m not sure I should send a ping to my previous post, but I will, so you can see how it looks like.

In the end, I can only hope that my readers will understand, and besides, it may actually entice my readers to look at my other previous posts not already listed in the “Recent Comments”.

TypePad does not have this behaviour. There, a trackback is a trackback, and the only way to turn off this behaviour in WordPress would be to a) not send pingbacks, or b) disallow pingbacks from other blogs in the “Comments and Pings” settings when writing a post or page, or c) simply delete the self-pings from my comments.

Not sure what to do here, so for now, I’ll just leave them on.

Share this

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

  1. July 17, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Mantab-mantab dah infonya.
    Bisa jadi rujukan saya buat belajar nih…
    Terimakasih ya..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

