Home > This blog only > More annoying things about the WordPress tag cloud

More annoying things about the WordPress tag cloud

WordPress tag cloud

WordPress tag cloud

Actually I had set aside a fun and off-topic post for today, but the strangest thing happened to my wordpress.com blog today.  The tag cloud suddenly lists tags by size, not by letter…what gives? Besides looking absolutely terrible it’s absolutely useless. I for one tend to go through lists alphabetically, not by size, and the most used and biggest tags stand out anyway…so why order them by size?

When I first posted about the tag cloud, more than a month ago, it was because it didn’t line break. Now there is a new annoyance: tag sorting. What’s up with WordPress? I do enjoy new features, but this one makes no sense to me. Is it so that people can easier find what I write about most? No, it can’t be, those tags are standing out big anyway. Is it some sort of weird SEO, so Google will know what I write most about by looking at my tag order this way? I’m at wits end here. Or have the ingenious programmers at WordPress gone completely mad? Maybe that’s more like it. I have seen tag clouds in use in many places, not just blogs, but this is the only place I know of that displays the tags in this manner. Maybe it’s to mimick the wordpress.com tag list? At least the tags on the wordpress.com front page still look normal…until the engineers start fiddling with that too…

Oh, on a final note, I owe this discovery to surlylump, who posted this sudden change in tag cloud behavior on the WordPress Forums earlier today.

UPDATE

This matter has now been fixed.

  1. August 19, 2008 at 4:19 am | #1

    My tag cloud is fine on the main page of my blog. I did check once and saw the same problem you mentioned. Maybe it was a tempoary glitch? Looks like your tag cloud is fixed now.

  2. August 19, 2008 at 5:54 am | #2

    Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback! Based on some user feedback, we have fixed some issues with this (there was an update made to it today). Does it look okay to you now? I’d love to hear your feedback and we can see if there can be additional changes made.

    Douglas
    WordPress.com Support

  3. August 19, 2008 at 5:55 am | #3

    Thanks, Lee. Judging by the staff response in the forum thread mentioned in the post (and only a couple hours after posting this thread) they fixed this immediately, so it was just a temporary glitch…which robbed me of a potential good post here :-( but anyway, I’ll just leave in this post and add some other post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

