WordPress CSS versus TypePad CSS

Something isn’t right about this blog today…can you see what? If you’re regular reader of this blog, or even if you’re just a regular WordPress user or even if you’re just a regular reader of blogs on WordPress, you will realize that this is not how the Contempt theme is supposed to look like.  You’re right. I’ve done something to it. I bought the so-called CSS-upgrade and tried to do some styling. It wasn’t that difficult. But that’s not the whole story…

What can CSS do in WordPress?

Let me first tell you what I did to my theme.

  • I increased the font size in the header.
  • I decreased the font size in the page bar below the header.
  • I changed the border style and border color for the widgets.
  • I changed the font style and font color for the widget titles.
  • I changed the bullets for the list in the widgets.
  • I decreased the size of the search box.

I was quite happy with that. I have no prior CSS experience, although I’ve done a fair bit of Java-programming before, so I just tried to read and understand the CSS code as best as I could. And eventually I managed to set my Contempt theme apart from the rest of the Contempt blogs on WordPress.

Wordpress Contempt without CSS

Wordpress Contempt without CSS

Wordpress Contempt with CSS

Wordpress Contempt with CSS

I followed WordPress’ instructions of previewing all changes first, before buying the upgrade, to make sure I really understood what I was doing. Then I decided to buy the upgrade, at $15/yr it’s worth it, I think .

What can CSS do in TypePad?

Pretty much exactly the same, but it’s a lot more costly. Most TypePad user are probably content with a Basic account ($4.95/mo, no theme editing, no domain-mapping) or a Plus account ($8.95/mo, can design and style a custom theme based on modules for sidebars and main columns, domain-mapping). Full CSS editing is availabe at the Pro account ($14.95/mo), which basically gives you total control over your template, not just the HTML, i.e. much more than the average user needs.

So, with the Plus account you can design a custom theme and/or change the layout of an existing theme:

Even without CSS, TypePad gives you more flexibility than WordPress in setting your own design. But it comes at a price:

  • WordPress: $15/yr
  • TypePad: $89.50/yr (with prepay rebate)

Conclusion

Despite the limitations inherent in the theme design, I found WordPress’ CSS to be a more powerful tool than TypePad’s flexible design, and certainly more value for money. But then again, it depends on what you want to do with your blog. Maybe TypePad’s layout choices is what wins you over to that side?

For me, it is like this:

WordPress – TypePad: 3 – 1, which makes today’s overall score: WordPress – TypePad: 37 – 25

BUT I did more

I also took away the global categories and tags and any other post info below the posts SPECIAL STORY

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

